GCSE Information Technology


Our GCSE ICT is a practical, skills-based qualification that builds on our Key Stage 3 Curriculum and provides a foundation for students intending to study ICT at a higher level. Through studying GCSE ICT, students become more independent and discerning users of ICT who can make informed decisions about its use.

GCSE ICT is comprised of 60% Controlled Assessment (unit 1 & 2) and 40% from external assessment (unit 3).


Controlled Assessment

Controlled Assessment is a new approach to delivering internally assessed units in a range of subjects at GCSE level and replaces traditional coursework. In GCSE ICT unit 1 and unit 2 are Controlled Assessment tasks. Unit 3 is a written exam which contains structured questions for students to complete.

Unit 1: Tools and Applications

Information Storage and Retrieval – creating a database

Numeric Manipulation and Modelling – creating a spreadsheet

Creating a multimedia presentation

Unit 2: Using Multimedia and Games Technology

Developing a Multimedia Website (using FrontPage to create a website)

Games Technology (using Scratch to create a game)

Unit 3: Understanding ICT Systems in Everyday Life and Its Implications for Individuals, Organisations, Society and the Wider World.

Knowledge of ICT Components
Data and Information
Digital Communication Methods
Applications of ICT

GCSE Computing

This specification recognises the well-established methodologies of computing, alongside the technological advances which make it such a dynamic subject.

Pupils can choose from a range of programming languages for non-exam assessment, which can be Python, C#, VB.Net etc. Those who follow this course will be equipped with the logical and computational skills necessary to succeed at A-level, the workplace or beyond.